Wednesday, 29 June 2011

Elvin Jones - Genesis (1971)

01.P.P. Phoenix 4:56
02.For All The Other Times 10:00
03.Slumber 5:16
04.Three Card Molly 8:25
05.Cecilia Is Love 10:10.

Bass - Gene Perla
Drums - Elvin Jones
Saxophone [Tenor, Soprano] - Dave Liebman,Joe Farrell
Saxophone [Tenor], Flute [Alto] - Frank Foster.

The graphics are kind of dull on this late-period Blue Note LP, but the music is anything but boring. Elvin Jones' band had expanded during 1969-71 from a pianoless trio to a three-horn quintet. With Dave Liebman and the returning Joe Farrell on tenors and sopranos and Frank Foster contributing some tenor, alto flute and bass clarinet (bassist Gene Perla completes the group), it would not be an overstatement to call this a powerful unit. On five originals by band members (best-known is Jones' "Three Card Molly"), the musicians take long, heated solos that straddle the boundary between hard bop and the avant-garde. Their album (not yet out on CD) has plenty of invigorating music.(by S.Yanow)
Image Hosted by

No comments:

Post a Comment