Thursday, 30 June 2011

Joey Defrancesco - Legacy (2004)

01.Legacy/DeFrancesco 8:20
02.Dot Com Blues/Smith 6:51
03.I'll Close My Eyes/Reid 7:33
04.Back at the Chicken Shack/Smith 6:41
05.Jones'n for Elvin/DeFrancesco 7:08
06.Off the Top/Smith 6:22
07.Corcovado (Quiet Nights)/Jobim 8:24
08.I've Got My Mojo Workin'/Foster 6:15
09.St. Thomas/Rollins 4:00
10.Blues for Bobby C./Smith 6:26
11.Midnight Special/Smith 7:31.

Joey DeFrancesco (piano, Hammond b-3 organ)
Jimmy Smith (Hammond b-3 organ)
Paul Bollenback (sitar)
James Moody (tenor saxophone)
Tony Banda (double bass)
Mel Brown (bass guitar)
Byron Landham (drums, gong)
Steve Ferrone (drums)
Ramon Banda (timbales)
Raul Yañez (Piano)
Edmund O'Reilly (Zither)
Jose "Joey" de Leon (Conga,Shakere)
Tom Cerino (Gong).

Extending the good vibes created out of their first pairing on the live recording Incredible!, organists Joey Defrancesco and Jimmy Smith get down to business on Legacy. The two stellar and funky musicians have a great musical rapport and seem to really enjoy playing together. Fans of Incredible! will most likely find much to enjoy here. The album has a heavy Latin sound with percussionists Ramon Banda and Jose "Joey" de Leon supplying additional timbales and conga rhythms respectively. Also joining in this time around is special guest tenor saxophonist James Moody, who adds his fiery bop chops to "Jones'n for Elvin." Backing Defrancesco and Smith here are bassist Tony Banda, guitarist Paul Bollenback, and drummer Steve Ferrone. ~ Matt Collar.

Image Hosted by

No comments:

Post a Comment