Tuesday, 27 October 2009

Lee Konitz Quintet - Peacemeal (1969)

01.Thumb Under
02.Lester Leaps In
03.Village Joke
04.Something to Sing
06.Body and Soul
07.Peasant Dance
08.Fourth Dimension
09.Second Thoughts
10.Subconscious Lee
11.Lester Leaps In
12.Body and Soul
13.Subconscious Lee.

Lee Konitz - Alto, tenor, and Multivider (electric) saxophones
Marshall Brown - Valve trombone, baritone horn
Dick Katz - Acoustic and electric piano
Eddie Gomez - Bass
Jack DeJohnette - Drums.


  1. Quite a unique set from Lee Konitz recorded during a late 60s period where he was wonderfully experimental with his sound! For the album, Konitz is joined by Marshall Brown on valve trombone & baritone horn, Dick Katz on piano & electric piano, Eddie Gomez on bass and Jack De Johnette on drums all making for a mixed acoustic/electric sound that seems to set Lee free not in a trippy way, but in a mode that breaks the ice of the 50s years, tempers the freedom of the early 60s recordings, and makes for a really fresh approach overall! The album starts off with three Bartok pieces that were originally for piano but have been adapted by the Quintet and also features three Katz originals and two Konitz pieces titles that include "Thumb Under", Lester Leaps In", "Something To Sing", "Peasant Dance", "Subconcious Lee", and "Fourth Dimension". CD features 3 bonus alternate takes!